100 Voicings (2012)

for solo piano

For the John Cage centenary

Publisher: Bardic Edition

Published in: Collected Shorter Piano Pieces Vol 2 (2015) – Bardic Edition BDE 954

Duration: 7 minutes


First performance: Tuesday 4 September 2012; Stellenbosch, South Africa; Michael Blake piano

Programme note

100 Voicings was composed for the John Cage centenary concert I gave in the Fismer Hall, Stellenbosch on 4 September 2012 (the lone Cage centenary event in Africa). It consists of 100 revoicings of the four-note chord derived from the pitches of Cage’s surname, though an inadvertent repetition resulted in 101.


Piano music