String Quartet No 4 (2010)

For the Fitzwilliam String Quartet's 40th anniversary collection

Publisher: Bardic Edition

Score and Parts BDE 1013

Duration: c. 4 minutes, 30 seconds


First performance: Saturday 22 November 2014; Ars Musica, Bruges, Belgium; Quatuor Akthamar.

Programme note

String Quartet No 4 was a contribution to the Fitzwilliam String Quartet’s fortieth anniversary collection: pieces based on the Purcell Fantazias for four viols. The ensemble has included these remarkable pieces in their repertoire for many years, and were looking for new works which would complement and reference the earlier pieces. String Quartet No 4, my shortest to date, takes its cue from Purcell’s Fantazia No 6, Z737, which ideally should precede it in performance. The material is derived partly from Mozambican accordion music, which I transcribed myself.


Chamber music