Hob Fragments (2010)

for solo piano

Dedicated to Jill Richards

Written to mark the bicentenary of Haydn's death

Publisher: Bardic Edition

Published in: Collected Shorter Piano Pieces Vol 2 (2015) – Bardic Edition BDE 954

Duration: 2 minutes, 30 seconds


First performance: Tuesday 14 May 2013, 13h00; Fismer Hall, University of Stellenbosch, Cape Town, South Africa; Michael Blake piano.

Programme note

Hob Fragments is something of a companion piece to BWV Fragments (1999), here a cut-and-paste of the last five piano sonatas by Haydn, written to mark the bicentenary of Haydn’s death.


Piano music