Three Fragments from a Pilgrimage through Italy (2009)

for solo piano

  1. Gazing upon "The Ecstasy of Santa Teresa" (1'30")
  2. Discovering the Fountains of the Villa d'Este (1'00")
  3. Abstract Speed + Sound (1'15")

Dedicated to Willem Boshoff

Publisher: Bardic Edition

Published in: Collected Shorter Piano Pieces Vol 2 (2015) – Bardic Edition BDE 954


First performance: Thursday 13 February 2014, 13h10; Fismer Hall, University of Stellenbosch Konservatorium, Neethling Street, Stellenbosch, South Africa; Michael Blake piano.

Programme note

Fragments from an Italian Journey might have come from a miniature Lisztian excursion made in 2009, responding to the visual – Bernini’s classic sculpture in Rome, Giacomo Balla’s futurist painting in Venice, and the profusion of fountains at the Villa d’Este in Tivoli.


Piano music